Parts from BMW - wtf

Good idea. See below.
Keep in mind my comment about calling BMW Park Lane - the guy instructed me to email them... So it's not just this site offering weirdness.


I have used this same site in the past years. Only in the last 4-5 months had it all gone weird.
Thanks for that (y) A bit of digging shows that it seems to be a generic store front branded by Stratstone, aka Lithia UK (who also own Evans Halshaw amongst others). The T&Cs look like they were cut and pasted from somewhere else as there's a lot of references to Germany, and the real back end actually seems to be run by www.online-parts.co.uk who appear to be based in Germany. It's getting hard to know who you're really dealing with on-line now !
 
Thanks for that (y) A bit of digging shows that it seems to be a generic store front branded by Stratstone, aka Lithia UK (who also own Evans Halshaw amongst others). The T&Cs look like they were cut and pasted from somewhere else as there's a lot of references to Germany, and the real back end actually seems to be run by www.online-parts.co.uk who appear to be based in Germany. It's getting hard to know who you're really dealing with on-line now !
You're right with your little investigation. If you dump the .co.uk domain. You end up in a site pricing in Euro. But you get a red notice saying because of Brexit they won't ship orders lower than €168 to the UK , so you can redirect to the UK site...

I'm about to call Motorworks!
 
Good idea. See below.
Keep in mind my comment about calling BMW Park Lane - the guy instructed me to email them... So it's not just this site offering weirdness.


I have used this same site in the past years. Only in the last 4-5 months had it all gone weird.

that website is confusing - there is a .co.uk domain and the name of a UK dealer, yet all of the T&C refer to the transaction being made under German law with Paypal payments. The contact details are for the UK dealer.

It looks like the UK dealer has mirrored a German website without amending the smallprint.

Anyone buying from the website needs to ensure they are contracting with a UK company dispatching parts from their UK premises.
 
that website is confusing - there is a .co.uk domain and the name of a UK dealer, yet all of the T&C refer to the transaction being made under German law with Paypal payments. The contact details are for the UK dealer.

It looks like the UK dealer has mirrored a German website without amending the smallprint.

Anyone buying from the website needs to ensure they are contracting with a UK company dispatching parts from their UK premises.
Agreed. It's all bit of a mess. But for low value items, it's not a big deal.
I used to buy from Bohling in the UK, online. Can't find it anymore 🤷🏻
 
Just bought a pattern seal from Motorworks.

Soon looking for tips on fitting the outer FD seal 😄. Hoping this seal behaves unlike the pattern form seals I got from MW, which just never worked and needed doing again, with OEM seals!?@#£&! Hence my original wish for OEM
 
That is not a genuine BMW website, Rodin.
Is it not?! Interesting. It has the livery and the name in the address... The .co.uk site carries the name "Stratstone BMW and Mini" in their email to me... But I'll stand corrected!

Saying this. As mentioned above, calling Park Lane involved sending an email - that still hasn't had a reply (it didn't bounce either). The guy in the workshop sheepishly said to me "ahh, it's for a motorcycle, you'll have to email..." That's hardly falling into the efficient category 🤪
 
Is it not?! Interesting. It has the livery and the name in the address... The .co.uk site carries the name "Stratstone BMW and Mini" in their email to me... But I'll stand corrected!

I stand corrected instead! :D On a second look... it is incredibly confusing.
This is the operator of that site: https://www.online-parts.co.uk/online-parts/Legal-notice_4.html

They seem to deal with reselling parts for multiple brands.

My assumption is that the dealer is using their services for the website (and probably fulfilling) as a whitelabel. Hence not having their domain, but just a subsection of the site.
It is very "messy" IMHO and does not inspire confidence. I wouldn't buy there.

The type of domain naming and URL structure resembles a lot the old techniques used on affiliate websites, 20 years ago, to make a website sound official... when in reality it wasn't.
 
I do all my ordering online, direct, I just email my part numbers and qtys, then I get a pp invoice back, pay it and the parts are on my desk next day
 
I do all my ordering online, direct, I just email my part numbers and qtys, then I get a pp invoice back, pay it and the parts are on my desk next day
Are you able to share the email address with me?
 
ha, I knew that - stood like a prune in the middle of these fuck ugly cars - wandered around and had to ask for parts counter - "oh, you're just scum, its over there" waited 20 mins to get served - gave the part number - they pretended it wasn't an acceptable number - I explained they can order me bike parts - he said they can't...

went home to check the part number - the GS Oil filter - is the very same part used on the petrol range extender i3 - with the very same part number I had given him...

went back round for an argument - ready to rip the big bosses head off - and got another parts guy - oh yes we have 11 in stock !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Our local dealer (Inverness) really good. However they have just revamped the place and like you the spares is hidden in a wee dark corner up the back.

As well as the fuck ugly cars did you see the prices, how the hell have we got to these things being so expensive so quickly it’s mental.

Anyway back to spares our lads are great always helpful. I can also phone up and they’ll happily post out and they ain’t expensive.
 


Back
Top Bottom