VPN HELP ???

Pukmeister

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I run a pretty basic home network with both my Sons PC and his smart TV on an ethernet cable connection. I use powerline network connectors on the network for ease of cabling to my PC, a network printer/scanner, a spare PC in the garage and a CCTV HDD unit in the loft plus our lounge Smart TV. We run dual band WiFi for tablets, phones, MacBooks, Alexa, Hive etc.

Our ISP is Virgin who also provide our TiVo box and landline.

I have never used a VPN service before but I am considering using NordVPN (no doubt everyone has their preferred VPN provider of choice) both to increase security and hide our online activity I may even try streaming shows from a remote server such as USA to watch foreign content on my TV at some point eg Netflix.

1) Would the VPN run on each item as a standalone piece of software, or could I run it somehow on my router to protect absolutely everything coming into/out of the house ?
2) I presume I would need to install/run it on individual portable devices that also connect outside the home such as smartphones/tablets ?
3) I understand NordVPN comes with up to 5 connections as standard ?

As a VPN noob can anyone offer me helpful advice eg how easy to install/setup, pitfalls to avoid, connection issues, firewall and port forwarding woes etc ?

Many thanks

You can run the VPN on the router, but then every device is subject to it.

The drawback with this, I have found, is that some sites recognise that you are behind a VPN and show only a blank page. I have found this even if the VPN is set to the same country as the web site and I am surfing in that country.

I would go with per device. NordVPN allows quite a lot of devices on one account.

I had NordVPN for last 2 years and im not renewing.

nothing against Nord, they are pretty good.
i used it mainly to use on an IPTV account i had on my firestick for football :)