Weekend in London. Getting about.

Aidan1150

Nice but unfortunate husband.
Mod Squad
Reaction score
Herself and meself are going to London on Friday for the weekend, arriving into Heathrow T2 at about 10.30am and leaving late Sunday evening.

We will be staying in the Premier Inn in Richmond.
Saturday sees us at Twickenham Stoop to watch Harlequins v Ulster along with Chasmill and Wapping which we are very much looking forward to.

Which is the best (easiest) way to travel from Heathrow to Richmond? I'm thinking train into a main city station then transfer to Richmond? I have zero knowledge of travelling about in London so if you can suggest a route or indeed a good app I would be most grateful.

I'm not sure where we are meeting up with Charles and Richard before the match, but again simple travel suggestions from Richmond to the stadium would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Heathrow to Richmond.

I’d suggest: Piccadilly line to Turnham Green, then District line to Richmond. Then walk to hotel.

But….. Let’s check for any planned engineering works for next weekend first. The TfL website is pretty good, as it can accept future travel plans, as can Google Maps.

The alternative is Heathrow Express (pricey) to Paddington, then Hammersith & City line to Hammersmith, then District line to Richmond.

Best way from Richmond to Twickenham? One stop by train.

PS I’d suggest we meet either at the Stoop. TBA as to where and when, as Charlie has the tickets, or at the Albany pub, Twickenham (where we go after the match) from where we can walk to the Stoop or at Twickenham train station.

Twickenham station / the Albany pub is about 15 to 20 minutes walk to the Stoop.

I guess I’ll meet Charlie at Waterloo station, so meeting at Twickenham station might be best?

Last edited:
I use the app by Zuti and it’s showing this route.

Maybe work downloading for the trip?

IMG_2542.jpeg

Best Travel card?

IMG_4857.jpeg