Does the 21" wheel effect handling on Dakar?

_pi_

Im fairly new to road riding - and have had a few blasts in Kent and more interestingly a nice w/e trip to wales (got back on Sunday :D ).

I was finding the handling to be a little slow and heavy at 50mph+ twisties... mind you i nearly got a peg down ... that is, i scraped my boot.

Anyone else find this to be the case? Would a smaller front wheel give much different handling?

I find the the 21" front wheel is very responsive, and I believe from Jon, that it is much more so than the standard GS with the smaller frontv wheel. If you counter-steer then the Dakar's tip into bends easily. Have a look on the 650 section about getting Dakar's round corners.

Jim

I would expect a larger front wheel to slow the steering down (effectively reducing steering rake).

Mike:confused:

The std GS's front rim is 2.50x19, whereas the Dakars is 1.60x21 - quite a lot narrower. In fact, when you first get on it after your std GS you think it won't have any grip at all!

I've found both versions very chuckable - especially with a bit of counter steering thrown in.

Just added a set of Touratech progressive springs to my Dakar and it's changed the handling noticeably - best money I've spent on the bike so far I reckon (and they're only £60 odd brand new)

If you've scrapped your boot, you're definitely getting it over.

Some things to consider with trail bikes.
1/ The bike is tall. So to go from one side to the other the bike has to move further.
2/ The centre of gravity is higher. So it's harder to move around the pivot point. i.e.the tyre contact patch.
3/ The steering geometry is "lazy". To give more stability over rough ground. This also makes the steering heavier.
4/ The 21" front wheel has more gyroscopic effect and so is harder to deflect/steer. Also gives greater stability on rough ground.
BUT :-
5/ You have wider bars to compensate for some of 3 & 4 above.