Commuter returns to Bike School in USA

Commuter

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
So after 4 months of being in the USA, I am seriously missing my bike the open road and the fact that the weather is great and I am missing it, plus the snow will be coming soon. :eek:

With this is mind 2 months ago I started researching into obtaining my motorcycle license in the USA as the Department of Motor Vehicles will not recognise my UK license at all for both car and bike (Sorry full test or course required sir.) I cannot explain how frustrating this system is. :spitfire

I am a bike operator for over 10 years in the UK. In the State of Massachusetts I have had to take the following as my license from the UK and riding experience will not even allow me to test ride a demo bike at the dealers. :(

1. A multiple choice written test (20 questions, 14 is the pass mark) to obtain my "learner's permit" Cost $35.00

2. I then have a choice.
a: Go to the test directly on my own bike (I cannot buy a bike until I pass my test :rolleyes:) Cost - $35.00 if you can rent a bike ($250.00 plus insurance per day - Only Harleys or Goldwings !!) – Read impossible (6 figure of 8s and a road observation)

b: Take a 15 hour course consisting of 5 hours classroom and 10 hours riding and not have to take the test - Cost $325.00

Therefore, Commuter decides, ok to make this, easy I will go play on silly 250 nighthawks for 2 days and go to back to CLASS (how difficult can it be!!) passing the multiply choice question took 10 minutes and had 1 motorbike related question.

I arrive with a nothing to lose attitude at class and meet Ted (the arsehole) instructor.

Ted tells us on arriving and I quote “we will talk about the training only, you will listen and I will teach and tell you how great bikes are for 5 hours and then give you a 30 minute multiply choice question test with all your papers and workbooks on the table in front of you.” Oh my god where am I!!!