57 R1200gs NO abs light?

TheBoxer

Reaction score
Morning,well I bought a 1200 with 'working abs' ok,well at least it works from the sellers point the abs/brake fail light doesn't come on...at all. So my question,being a tech my assumption is there is indeed an issue,no light telltale with ign on so possibly bulb removed or masked under the dash? And further to this I guess this is not a servo system so the brakes will work as a bike with no abs. Also the ASC works through the abs module I would assume so I assume again this would be effected? The general warning light isn't on,the Speedo does work could it be I'm doing something wrong and it does work/the bulb has simply blown or is there an abs fault given all the above.

Thanks

if its this age - do you 100% have the reluctor ring on the inner part of the front left disc and the small wire to the wheel speed sensor... and you get a separate ABS button on the left switch gear

if it has ASC - it will ALSO have a separate ASC button beside the info button - a very rare option - and on the LCD cluster screen it will have a flashing A top right. When you press the ASC button it will swap to a better flashing S - if its working - once ridden 10 yards, it will either revert to a solid non flashing A or S another press displays nothing and its OFF

or ride up the road and stand on the back brake - if you get a crude massage on your foot its got functioning ABS, if it skids, some moron has messed with it - if it was there, but broken the red light would be on all the time

I suspect its a std bike with neither toy - or he could have turned them off with motoscan if its just broken like they always do - the brushes stick and the ESP motor doesn't run - same unit as the cars, but the ESP pump only manages the linked brakes - perfectly fixable - with a hammer or remove the pump and clean it - but that's involved

Last edited: