Riding in London, bus lanes.

wintercat7

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Hello All,

I have recently purchased a 1200GS and will be using it around London for the next month or two.
I have a lot of experience in London as I was actually a courier in a previous life but a few things have changed in the preceding 12 years. :blast
I see that bikes are now in allowed in Bus lanes which I think is great.
As far as I can understand it is all bus lanes. Am I correct or do I have to look at the signs and see if their is a Bike on the sign? Has anybody been nabbed for getting this wrong?
Thanks and any tips on changes would be much appreciated.
Hopefully see some of you Tossers at the bike show.

Cheers
Adam

Am I correct or do I have to look at the signs and see if their is a Bike on the sign?

No, on some lanes you cannot ride, you have to look at the sign.

Has anybody been nabbed for getting this wrong?

Here I am.

The last time I rode in London some bus lanes were OK for motorbikes and the bike symbol appeared on the signs, but then after the next cross roads, the symbol could rasily mysteriously disappear. Bloody confusing. It's not as though riding a motorbike in a busy city is risky enough without looking out for those little symbols.

No motorbike symbol on the bus lane sign, no go, simple, unless obviously outside the controlled hours.

Oh yes, and this can change along the same stretch of road

And when you come to Ireland on your bike, feel free to use all the bus lanes. Yes it's against the law here as well but all the cops are happy for you to be in the bus lane as long as you don't act the maggot. I've actually been ushered into a bus lane by a traffic biker :bow .

As darkhorse says, you have to read the signs.

Ride in a buslane that you shouldn't and you WILL get a ticket.

Thanks for the reply's and all the info. As ever it is not as easy as one would hope.