HyperPro suspension upgrade on an 1989 R100GS - the test ride

SJRoome

Reaction score
Hi

After my 1989 R100GS failed its MoT because of a leaking rear shock absorber, I decided to replace it with a HyperPro 3D shock. I also decided to upgrade the front forks with HyperPro’s upgrade kit. The story of the installation of these upgrades is given here and here.

I am by no means an expert on motorcycle suspension or a very good rider but I thought my experience of the upgrade might help others faced with the same choices.

When the bike failed its MoT I was not disappointed because it forced me to upgrade the rear shock, a decision I have been thinking about for years. I have been experimenting every now and then with the suspension. I am sure you all know that with the standard fork springs the usual fork oil is SAE 10W both sides and that one side controls compression and the other the rebound. In 2009 I changed to “The Millichap cocktail” which is 15W left fork and 16.75W right fork. This improved the handling but I found the ride rather hard and I changed the left leg back to 10W a year later.

Other than the oil in the right hand fork the bike was pretty standard. The tyres are Metzler Enduro 3 Sahara. The front is new and is at a pressure of 2.2 Bar. The rear has about 50 miles wear from new and is at 2.5 Bar.

I have tested the bike both before and after the upgrade on a circuit of local roads that I know well. I was particularly interested to see how the bike felt on a piece of the A323 heading north into Fleet from Farnborough. The road surface has become particularly nasty over the last few years. The surface is tarmac with embedded gravel that causes the Metzlers to vibrate. The road has been dug up right down the middle of the northbound lane by a utility company and they have somehow created a surface which undulates up and down with a period of a couple of yards together with ripples every couple of inches.