First time user.

steveC

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Hi, I have been fortunate enough to get a free Nav 5 with my 1200gs. I have seen from this forum many frustrated readers struggle with base camp etc. I have been thinking wow is it really this hard to plan a route.

I sifted through some of the posts and came upon one recommending motogoloco as an alternative to basecamp. So I thought I would give it a go.

So here's my experience as a complete newbie till last night.

I connected my nav 5 to my PC and of course there was a update of software and maps available, I installed a 16gb SD card and did the updates. However when I look at the contents on the nav 5 I see that the updates must have been put into its internal memory. I thought that SD card would have been the preferred storage point or is there a way of changing that ? please let me know.

I down loaded the motogoloco site and did a couple of very simple routes. My attempts to transfer the file to the nav 5 failed despite downloading the latest plug in from Garmin. So I transferred the files from the computer hard drive direct to the Nav 5 and it works just fine.

I did down load base camp and briefly had a bash at doing the same route. I think that bit of software is designed for frequent users and was not suitable for my use. ( read, it was to complicated. )

This morning I did the same but used my mac air book and that allowed instant export from motogoloco to the nav 5, so even smoother.

Again cheers to you regular posters who have given me the courage to have a go at this task.

So let me know should my import maps be on my SD card because that has the space and internal memory sits at 99% full. The only thing on the SD card is the routes I have transferred.

Steve (ex GPS newbie )