BMW System 5 Helmet

GlynnJ

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I need a new lid and this one looks interesting.

Anybody out there got one, seen one, read an article about one?

GlynnJ

System 5 helmet....

Got a pair on order & Motorrad Central in Glasgow told me today that they are due in on Wednesday.....

The ones I saw & tried on at Intermot last year were finished to a much higher standard than the System 4 Evo that I've been using for the last 3 years......remains to be seen how quiet they are.....

Here's what I've found out so far: http://www.bmwridersscotland.com/bulletinboards/viewtopic.php?t=239

I'll post a report when we've used them for a while.....

Cheers

Dutch

Thanks, guys. I am going to visit Allan Jeffries tomorrow. They cost £280 each and they are in stock. If I am tempted I will let you know how it shapes up.

GlynnJ

Sys 5 Helmet

Bought mine on Tuesday and did 100 odd miles in windy cold but sunny conditions.

Ventialtion flaps excellent.....still mists up a wee bit but that was because of town traffic and the cold weather.

Thought it to be a great and comfortable fit.

A bit alarmed at first cos it was extremely noisy even with ear plugs in BUT I was riding my new 1200 gs for the firts time and have since discovered there are severe noise problems with the standard screen on this bike.

Went out today same conditions but wearing a 6 month old SYs 4 hemet ...same noise problem. Have now ordered a larger screen as recommended by other GS ers on this site.

Hope this helps

Regards

Dan

Sys 5, noise and misting

Thanks, Dan. Helps a lot. I think my current helmet is noisy too but it is supposed to be quiet. I think it's a GS thing. I fitted Tobinators to my Wunderlich screen (1150GS) and it really helps reduce buffeting but doesn't do much for the noise.

I noticed your comment about the vents, did you buy the standard visor or the double-glazed version?

Cheers

GlynnJ

Sys 5

Glynn

I have had four 1150s gs including an