Apple ID scam email

Decster

Registered user
Joined
Apr 25, 2005
Messages
8,123
Reaction score
2
Location
ever had the feeling you've been cheated
Just got an email from [email protected] via alina.zenid.net

Dear Client,

This is an automatic message by the system to let you know that you have to confirm your account information within 48 hours. Your account has been frozen temporarily in order to protect it.

The account will continue to be frozen until it is approved And Validate Your Account Information.
Once you have updated your account records, your information will be confirmed and your account will start to work as normal once again.

This will help protect you in the future. The process does not take more than 3 minutes.

To proceed to confirm your account information please click on the link below and follow the instructions that will be required.

Verify Now >

For more information, see our frequently asked questions.

Thanks,
Apple Customer Support

The only clickable link is the verify now although there appear to be other links for apple see below underlined, but dont work.

TM and copyright © 2013 Apple Inc. Apple Sales International, Hollyhill Industrial Estate, Cork, Ireland. Company Registration number: 15719. VAT number: IE6554690W.
All Rights Reserved / Keep Informed / Privacy Policy / My Apple ID

If you would prefer not to receive commercial email from Apple, or if you have changed your email address, please click here.

the verify now page

http://appleid.apple.com.cgi-binweb...vermice.com/ed5fd7ccd775cc2db8a46343120bfbe4/

seems like a scam to me.

Why? i dont have an apple ID account.:augie
 
I had three of them on Wednesday. assumed it was a scam and ignored it. Not checked to see if I've been locked out of the world of Apple yet though. :D
Mark
 
WTF would paypal be asking you to verify apple account info? they don't even take paypal.

maybe i'm reading the OP wrong? :nenau
 
Aside from the above mentioned clues; If you look at the provided URL with a modicum of attention you'll see that the destination domain is actually vermice.com. Feck all to do with Apple or PayPal. The bit following the TLD could well be a unique identifier so if you've clicked it (or anyone else has, seeing as the OP has posted it in full) you may well have verified that the email has been received by someone gullible enough to follow the link. Individual verified email addresses are not worth squit. However, thousands, as these unscrupulous bastards send to, and you're talking a saleable commodity. Especially if they're recently verified as having appeared to have fallen for an email like that. The OP should be expecting significantly more of the same.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
 
I replied to original email with a "suck me" response, in case some posters feel i actually believed that Paypal and Apple wanted something i never gave them in the 1st place.

Posted here for others to be aware off.
 
Hard though it maybe to resist responding in any way, it's best to just delete suspcious emails.

Unfortunately they'll never stop coming as even one hit in a thousand is profit for these slime-balls.

If your mail server has a spam filter such as spam assassin enable it. This should help limit the amount of spam making it into your inbox.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
 


Back
Top Bottom