Cruise Control Failure - Diagnostic Advice Needed

luckymaguire

Reaction score
Hi all.

I’m sure this has possibly been covered but I couldn’t find the specific details so apologies in advance.

My 2013 1200GS cruise control doesn’t work. It only worked briefly when I obtained the bike early autumn last year. I have changed the clutch micro switch hoping it was that. But no luck. Bike has been stored in a dry garage and has hardly seen any rain when I have used.

(Of note is that this bike in every other department is f@&king amazing! Why oh why did I not buy one years ago?!)

Is it possible utilising diagnostics tools to see if any of the other switches (brakes, gear selector) that could disable it are triggering the cancellation of the cruise control function? Is it even possible to use diagnostics tools to even check this? Is it possible to check the cruise control switch itself is even working? Of this I have no real knowledge so could do with some guidance.

In the event that this is even possible, I am willing to pay for someone who has the equipment and knowledge to do these types of check (if indeed they can be done). I have seen people advertising use of diagnostics tools. I am very reluctant to go to a BMW garage because of the expected high costs.

I am asking before I go and buy a new LHS switch gear only to find it was something else instead.

FYI, without trying to come across too strongly I’m not rolling the throttle closed. I’m not inadvertently putting pressure on brakes or other switches so I’d like to eliminate user error. I’m certain it is either completely broken or there is another electrical/hardware issue somewhere.

But I’m ooen to any other guidance.

Thanks.

Barry