RT for the taller rider?

JKW

Reaction score
Just had a couple of hours out on an RT for the first time. Leaving aside the fact that this is my first time with the Boxer engine (currently ride an F800GS) and all that that entails I have a couple of issues because of my size (I'm 6'4") and wonder whether anyone has had similar problems and how they dealt with them.

1) Bars - I know the riding position is different on the RT but I find the reach just too much. I'm told by the dealer that you can fit 20mm risers without having to mess with the cables. I think this is probably going to be enough to relax the shoulders but is it as simple as it appears?

2) Pegs - there just isn't enough room between seat and pegs for my long legs even with seat fully raised and ESA pre-load at max. :eek: The dealer suggests a peg lowering kit - any recommendations/experiences you'd care to share? How much extra can I expect to gain and any issues to watch out for?

Of course, even with the adjustments I'd still have to 'take a flier' because I can't see a dealer fitting a bike up just for me to have another test ride - but if there's some experience out there it would help.

Because of budget (and the fact that I HATE the new indicator switchgear) I'll be looking at the pre-2010 model (just in case that makes any difference). :thumb

My RT is absoloutly fine as standard, needs bigger tank range for comfort to be a problem :beerjug: and I am 6'4" :thumb2:thumb2

It is a 1987 K. I dont suppose you wanted to know about such ancient shite :jibber:jibber:jibber